Punjabi Kadhi

Surprisingly when I was younger, I didn’t like Kadhi. I have no idea why I used to dislike it. For years I wouldn’t eat it and didn’t realise what I was missing out on. 

This is a Punjabi dish and as a Punjabi girl it would be served in my house a lot. My father would never understand why on earth I wouldn’t eat it. Even upon visiting my family in India, whenever Kadhi would be served the amount of gasps from everyone that could be heard when  I refused to have some!

Believe me I was missing out on a lot!  Kadhi is basically crisp deep fried fritters in a tangy, spiced yoghurt curry and to me is heaven in a bowl.

The pakoras (fritters)  used in this dish are normally onion ones, however you can use any variety of pakoras you wish e.g. vegetable ones.  For instance, when I took these pictures I used vegetable pakoras as I already had a batch made.

I will add more pakora recipes to my blog soon. For now I will be posting just the kadhi curry recipe.

This is a Punjabi dish and is a real treat in my home. Serve it with fluffy rice and you have a dish which is comforting and perfect for a cold winters day.

 


img_0094

Prep: 40 minutes (including pakoras)  Cooking: 30 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup of full fat  yogurt
  • 6 tablespoons of  besan (gram flour)
  • 1 Small diced Onion
  • ΒΌ Teaspoon of Turmeric powder –haldi
  • 1/2 teaspoon of red chilli powder – Lal mirch 
  • 1 Tablespoon of Ginger Garlic paste
  • 1 Teaspoon  of Coriander powder –Daniya powder 
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 1/4 spoon of salt
  • 2 1/2 Cups of water
  • 1 Tablespoon of vegetable oil
  •  1/2 Teaspoon of Cumin seeds – jeera
  • A pinch of Asafoetida – hing
  • Daniya to garnish
  • Onion pakoras

 

Method

  1. Put yogurt into a bowl. Add besan, haldi and salt. Mix to form a smooth consistency
  2. Add water slowly to yoghurt mix and mix this to a smooth, lump free consistency
  3. In a pan heat some oil and add jeera
  4. When jeera starts spluttering, add onion and ginger garlic paste
  5. When onion turns brown,add all the remaining masalas
  6. Mix for a few minutes and leave to cool for 5mins
  7. Now slowly add the yoghurt mixture you made to onion mixture
  8. KEEP STIRRING this on a medium flame non stop for 15 minutes
  9. When it starts to boil,switch flame to low and simmer
  10. Add pakoras
  11. KEEP STIRRING for 10 minutes
  12. Kadhi is done. Garnish with Daniya and serve hot with rice

Tips: Keep stirring whilst cooking to prevent yoghurt from curdling due to heat 

Add water during cooking process if kadhi is getting too thick 

Use full fat yogurt as again this is less likely to curdle 

Leave a Reply

