Soya Matar & Aloo Sabji

I started university almost certain I wouldn’t cook Indian food. Having it at home almost every day, I was confident I would live of pasta and pizza. Alas, I was proven wrong when I started craving and missing home dishes whilst at university. Turns out I cook Indian food a lot as I miss it too much!

As a vegetarian I absolutely love soya. It’s versatile and packed with lots of protein. Here’s a Soya Matar (peas) sabji I absolutely love:

Ingredients

1 cup soya chunks / meal maker / soya nuggets (heaped cup)
1 tsp of milk
2 onions finely chopped
1 or 2 chillis chopped
1/2 can of tomatoes (can use fresh if preferable)
1 tsp ginger garlic paste
¼ tsp red chili powder
½ tsp garam masala
½ tsp Daniya powder
¼ tsp haldi
Matar as needed
3-4 small aloo
Coriander leaves for garnish
Oil and salt as needed
Water

Method

  1. To prepare soya chunks – bring about 3 cups of water to a boil on stove with 1 tsp of milk. Milk is used to help get rid of raw smell. Add soya chunks and leave them in hot water till they have expanded and soften. Now throw away this water and rinse the chunks in cold water. You should squeeze each chunk to get rid off the excess water inside chunks. Soya chunks are ready for use.
  2.  At this point I also normally boil some aloo and keep aside too.
  3. Now fry onions, ginger/garlic paste and chillis until onions are brown. Add masala, haldi, daniya powder, lal mirch and salt/pepper to taste. ½ tsp of Chicken masala can be added but this is optional. Mix. Now add 1/2 can of tomatoes or fresh tomatoes if preferable. Mix this for 1-2 mins. Now add some water to make gravy. Add soya chunks and mix.
  4. Then add aloo and matar. Add more water if needed. Cook for about 20 mins on low flame.
  5. Sabji is ready and can be garnished with daniya. Serve hot with rotis or rice.

I normally make this earlier on in the day before my classes and then serve for dinner as it gives the soya chunks time to soak up all the spices nicely. 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

